19 June 2023
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
WYDOT informs residents about option to purchase “permanent light trailer” license plate
CHEYENNE, WY – The Wyoming Department of Transportation wants to inform the residents about the “option” to obtain “permanent plates” for their light trailers. This law and the fee structure was passed in the 2023 legislative session and becomes effective July 1, 2023.
Starting July 1, owners of any light trailers – defined as trailers weighting less than 1,000 lbs. may purchase a permanent plate for their trailer.
Light trailers that are newer than 6 years old would incur a $350 one-time permanent registration fee for the plate.
To register 7 years and older will need to pay a $50 one-time administration fee, plus a one-time fee equal to 5-times the total registration fee for one year.
If the trailer is sold, the owner must remove the now expired plate, as this plate cannot be transferred to the new owner.
If an owner sells a trailer for which a permanent plate has been purchased for, and purchases a new trailer within 60 days, the fees and plates can be transferred to the new trailer through the county treasurer’s office.
Like most other license plates, these permanent plates will be issued at the county treasurer’s office.
For information about this news release, contact WYDOT senior public information specialist Jordan Achs at 307-777-4013 or Jordan.firstname.lastname@example.org.
For the latest road conditions, visit www.wyoroad.info, call 5-1-1-, or download the Wyoming 511 app.
Follow WYDOT on Facebook at www.facebook.com/WyomingDeptofTransporation